Forbidden Fruit: The Meaning Behind It All

A few months ago, after about a month of back and forth, I sold this painting, Forbidden Fruit. This painting was the most involved I had ever been with any work I have ever done. This painting took over a month to complete. A lot of emotions went into it and I was really using it to work through a few things in my personal life. It’s personal to me, obviously, and it really means something.
However, when I was confronted by the enthusiast, although it was his first art purchase, I felt unsure and a little off guard. Though some of my paintings really have no meaning or very little meaning, this one really did. He had so many questions and I was embarrassed by the answers.
Not giving him any answers about what the painting meant to me led to many restless nights.So, now, here it is for you or anyone else that wants to know… the meaning behind it all:

Forbidden Fruit - oil on 48" by 36" canvas.

Forbidden Fruit – oil on 48″ by 36″ canvas.

I’ve always felt like all of these things, these needs, these life-altering passions – like lust and creativity – are not only denied, but shamed out of you. These deep-seated, animalistic, hedonistic, desires are the very things that you’re told you can’t have and don’t need. Self-love, self-worth, pleasure – not just sexual pleasure, but simple pleasures – are shunned.
There are people who are so closed off to the things that turn them on. They get embarrassed for you and try to make you feel bad about yourself. It makes me sad for them.
Forbidden Fruit is about those simple core pleasures and every day needs that are a part of what makes us so compassionate, so human and are denied to us.
The urges, the itches, the desires, the spark.
And without those lustful things there can’t exist compassion or true acceptance.
How are we supposed to make the world better when we are supposed to close out eyes to the very things that makes us feel most alive?
I guess, with Forbidden Fruit, I’m trying to say, or rather welcome people, to come take a bite. Share in the love and simple joys of life that most people avoid.
The snake in the grass is meant to open your eyes, not warn you.
The clutching branches are those people who want you to shy away because they’re too afraid to come any closer themselves. But they’re brittle, very brittle.
I mean, that’s all. It’s not life altering or world-changing itself, but it means a great deal to me.

Signature

Comment

