I Have Always Wanted To Take A Cross-Country Road Trip

(source unknown)

For as long as I can remember I have wanted to pack a bag, jump in my car, and drive towards the sunset until I hit the ocean. 

In the fantasy it was just me and a dog and long hours on the road, stopping to snap pictures when I wanted, looking at curiosities along the way, letting the dog hang its head out the window, enjoying the open road.

Yet, I’ve never gone.

I mean, I’m thirty-fucking-one years old and I’ve never seen the desert. Not to mention any part of the west coast.

Now. I’ve made it a priority to actually go.

I am determined to go this summer. If I have to sell my TV or my. . . okay. I don’t have anything of real value to sell come to think of it. But I’m going.

I love to drive. Oh man. I love it. It’s one of the greatest things. I’m often dreaming up weekend getaways – just got back from one a few weeks ago actually. When I heard that it was going to be 64 degrees in Tybee Island I booked a cheap hotel and jumped in the car (with my daughter in tow).

I love road trips whether it be a day trip or a two-day drive, but I’ve never gone farther than that. 

I live in the middle part Tennessee – in case you didn’t know. But I’m from the western part of Missouri. That’s a 9.5 hour drive. I’ve driven back to my hometown so many times that the gas money spent could buy me a nice car. I’ve driven back to Missouri so many times that I could’ve driven to California at least five times already. Hell, I’ve driven to Savannah enough times that I could’ve gone to California at least once.

When I think about that math I want to hit myself over the head. 

I could’ve gone to California how many times now? I don’t regret any of the other trips that I’ve made. However, if I can do those I can do this one, right? Right?

Hell yeah I can. 

I’ve said it here. Now you have to hold me to it.

West Coast, here I come!

Signature

What is something that you have always wanted to do, but haven’t?

EDIT: Someone that I know and love just moved to New Mexico! So, either way, this summer, I’ll at least get that far!

Comment

