Choose Happiness

This post was transferred over from my Dressing For Your Body Type Blog. It was originally posted on October 21, 2013.

seekrainbows 2

Never feel guilty for leaving any situation that isn’t spiritually, emotionally or mentally serving you. If you are not benefiting from a relationship or a situation in any way there is no shame in walking out.

I can understand being a people-pleaser. I can understand not wanting to hurt anyone. I can understand trying to stay in a bad relationship for someone else’s benefit. I’ve been there. I’ve walked in those shoes. And I can tell you, from personal experience, that it doesn’t work. In the end you need to choose you. You need to choose a life that makes you happy so that other people can truly benefit from being around you.

Have you ever been around a happy person? If you haven’t I’ll tell you a bit about them:

  • They like it when you are happy.
  • They encourage happiness.
  • They are supportive and want to see you succeed.
  • They like to smile.
  • They like to see you smile.
  • They are eager to learn new things.
  • They are constantly yearning to experience something new.
  • They love to help others chase their dreams.
  • They love to help.

Oops. I think I just described myself. Ummm… well, that’s embarrassing! I guess though, if it was really a description of me it would also have to say, in all honesty “They fantasize about slapping people in the face, but don’t actually do it because that’s bad.” and “They wish they had Elvira’s magical powers to create a hilarious orgy in town square by feeding uptight townsfolk a casserole.”

In all seriousness, though, when you’re happy other people benefit from being around you. It’s like you’re shining your rainbow down for everyone to smile back at. You can’t look at a rainbow and feel disgusted, can you? Nope.

happybenefits 2

One thought on “Choose Happiness

  1. Pingback: Choose Happiness | Dressing For Your Body Type

Comment

