Money Can Buy Happiness

I recently read an article on The Huffington Post,  10 Specific Ways Money Can Buy You Happiness.

I have to say that I agree. I don’t think I would be happier with just money. I don’t think I would be a happy person at all if I didn’t want to be happy – if I didn’t choose happy. But I do agree that there are some things that you can invest money in that will make your life easier, happier.

Here are my “Money Can Buy Happiness” investment choices.

Tybee Island, GA

1. Travel.

I am a nomad by nature. I looooove to travel. I love to drive. I have a favorite vacation spot, but I’m always up for going somewhere new. Like this summer I’ll be going to New Mexico. And it isn’t just the traveling, it’s the memories you make with family or friends. It’s laughing when you think back on something crazy that happened. Planning for the trip is always exciting, too.

3. Life Experience.

You can have a perfectly joyful time in your own town if you’d rather stay nearby. I really enjoy where I live and I also really like to support local business. I recently just went Strawberry Picking at Batey Farms. I’d never done that before. When I walked up to the row to pick I was giggling like a school girl I was so excited. For the rest of the week, every time I cut a strawberry for a smoothie, or ate one out of strawberry shortcake, I was happy all over again.

2. Over tipping.

This is how I feel about tipping: It is worth it to me to pay someone to do a job that I couldn’t do or don’t want to do.

The Jet’s Pizza delivery guy makes me grateful that I didn’t have to make dinner. My tattoo artist knows how to work a tattoo gun. I don’t. I know I wouldn’t be able to be a waitress. Waitressing is hard, ya’ll. My only experience comes from a church drive-in I participated in when I was 13. Those people were vicious.

My grandmother always said, “If you can’t afford the tip you can’t afford the meal.”

3. Vehicle upkeep.

This is very important to me. My car gets regular check ups, because my car is important to me. (See 1.) The car is an investment and every oil change is another investment. I plan on having this car for a long time. I’m happy knowing that everything is up-to-date and as it should be.

4. Good coffee.

I’ve posted about this on Instagram. So I’m just going to quote myself.

It’s not the coffee itself that makes me happy. It’s the peace, the stillness, the “take as long as you need”. And it’s even better when it’s in a mug from a dear friend.

5. A few indoor plants.

I’m one of those weird people who pets trees. I’ll press my fingers in between the cracks in the bark. I’ll feel the moss and just stare up at the leaves. I am a fan of foliage. It’s vital to my happiness to have indoor plants. Currently, in my home, I have a Poinsettia, an African Violet, and two tiny pots of grass. (I’m surprised the Poinsettia is alive, actually. It’s from Christmas.)

6. Color on the walls.

Anything that improves my environment is considered a good investment. I live here. If I like what I’m looking at then my life is made better. I think environment can have a lot to do with someone’s mood and overall happiness level. It’s very hard to be sad when you have a family splatter painting hanging over your work space.

7. Art supplies.

I don’t think I really need to go into detail here. Do I? Just knowing there is an art store less than two miles away makes me smile.

So that’s my list of ways money can buy me happiness.

What would you add to the list?

Signature

Comment

