My 4 Favorite Art Pieces (by other artists)

This is a repost from my old art blog at popandpulp.com. It was originally posted on August 24, 2014. These paintings are, however, currently still my favorite. When it changes I’ll post a new list.

(I am purposely keeping family members out of this. It would not be fair to just have four pieces of art done by my mother and my brother. Sorry, guys.)

Geisha With Stripper Boots is a beautiful piece by another local artist, Patti Mann of Blonde Iguana Art. I love the contrasting ideas joined together. I love that it’s almost burlesque in feel. The lines and light are gorgeous.

Geisha With Stripper Boots

The Nightmare by Henry Fuseli. I really don’t know what it is about this painting that completely draws me into it. There is a part of me that is comforted by this painting. There’s a part of me that could crawl inside it and take a nap, but there’s another part of me that is completely terrified by it.

image links to source

I’ll admit that being a professional artist did not appeal to me in high school. I thought it was an impractical way to make a living. I thought it was completely superflouus. That was until my Art teacher introduced me to Edvard Munch and The Scream. And it’s not just The Scream that I like. It’s all of his work. It’s the texture, the light, the lines… and mostly the COLORS he uses.

image links to source

My absolute favorite painting, right now, is a piece by Jean-Gabriel Domergue, La Veuve Noire. Actually, Jean-Gabriel Domergue is my absolute favorite artist. I don’t know how I came about his work, but I do remember the search began with pin-up artists. I love everything about his work. I adore the long lean lines of the women; the confidence they exude. There’s something daring about each of his pieces.

image links to source

What are some of your favorite pieces of art? Which pieces resonate with you?

Signature

Comment

