A Peek At The Process

A

I thought you might want to see how I do what I do. If you follow me on Instagram then you’ve already seen a lot of behind-the-scenes shots of me working and you probably have a pretty good idea of what’s going on. I thought it would be neat, though, to break it down in a step-by-step sort of way.

And off we go!

Sketch WorkI’m going to use the painting that I did for Free Art Friday to show you my process.

I don’t like to sketch directly on canvas. I think it can lead to a messy end result and I don’t like it. That’s just me. So, first I will sketch my idea out on paper. It’s usually a pretty rough initial sketch. And that’s okay. Because it’s not on the canvas, I feel more free to play, change lines and fine tune things. You can tell the difference in the lines. The lighter lines are ones that aren’t finalized in my mind. The darker lines are ones that I’ve already worked on.

Chalk for TransferWhen I get the sketch exactly how I want it it’s ready to be transferred onto canvas. I do that by taking my sketch, flipping it over, and chalking the back.

TracingIt’s fairly simple. I just go over all lines with some pastels. Sometimes I’ll use pencil, but it’s a lot faster to use the chalk.

Then I tape it, chalk side down, on the canvas that it will be transferred to and trace the original sketch.

The finished transfer will look like this:

Finished Transfer

After the transfer it’s kind of a paint-by-numbers type of deal. I put all of the color in first. The lines are last.

Et voila:

Miley

I hope you enjoyed this little peek inside my brain.
(Check instagram for more behind-the-scenes.)

I’m going to go jump in the pool! Have a great week ya’ll!

Signature

One thought on “A Peek At The Process

  1. Pingback: Premature Studio Tour | Liz Kelly Zook

Comment

