Two Week Drawing Challenge: Something You Dislike

There are a lot of things I dislike. In fact, this was a topic when I was a teenager. Someone once told me that it’s good to know what you don’t like, but it’s more important to know what you do like. And, though I agree that it’s good to focus on what you do like, it’s also good to be able to vent frustrations over the things that you don’t like. Because it’s in that space that you can make positive changes in your life. It’s in that space that anger turns to activism. You’ve gotta be the kind of person that likes to take your life by the balls and make changes where changes need to be made.

Today, I’d like to focus on people who peddle bullshit. Bullshit Peddlers. I dislike them a great deal. Everyone encounters these people in their lives. And though you can’t change them, you can learn how to recognize the bullshit. Recognizing it for what it is makes it easier to shrug it off.

Something I Dislike - Bullshit Peddlers

A bit ago someone sent me a message that said, “I hope one day you become as good an artist as you think you are.” You insult me. Fine. Whatever. No skin off my back. But if you thought for two seconds that your bullshit and insults were going to result in me thinking, “You know what? He’s right. His insults have made me realize that I was wrong to cut him off.” Nope. Your crude, belligerent behavior just further proves to me how right I was to get rid of you in the first place. So, that’s an example of something that you can easily recognize as bullshit and, instead of buying into it, brush it off. It didn’t make me question myself as an artist. It didn’t make me question anything, actually. It reaffirmed that my decision to cut this guy out of my life was correct.

The next time someone tries to peddle bullshit to you question their motives and question what they say, but whatever you do, don’t let them make you question yourself.

Today, you get a life lesson with my illustration. Two for one deal! hahaha

Signature

Be sure to follow the #twoweekdrawingchallenge, and @LizKellyZook, on Instagram and Twitter.

 

Comment

