That’s Not My Name

Stairwell Gallery WallGreat. Now I’m going to have that song stuck in my head all day.

My name isn’t that unusual. However, sometimes when I introduce myself – and this has happened on three separate occasions – people will ask, “Can I call you Beth?”

When I tell them no they get annoyed; almost indignant. “Well, why not?” they ask.

And I have to say, “That’s not my name.”

“You’re name is Elizabeth.”

“No. It’s not.”

“It’s not?” and sometimes they cross their arms at me in disbelief.

My father named me “Liz”. Just Liz. That’s all it says on my birth certificate. That’s it. And I find it incredibly weird when people get so attached to MY name that they feel the need to argue with me about it.

Anyway, I’m working on a pretty big-deal project right now, but I didn’t want you to think I disappeared. SO, I thought I’d share that little tidbit with you.

I hope you’re having a good Monday.

Signature

Comment

