Stepping Out Of My Comfort Zone

As a creative person, I think it’s important to try new things. (Actually, as a person person it’s important to try new things. New experiences open up new syntax in your brain.) I like to step out of my comfort zone and push limits. That’s how art evolves; improves.

Sometimes stepping out of my comfort zone involves trying new mediums or materials. Other times it means painting a different way. Right now I’m struggling with adding more patterns to my paintings.

Mostly my art is 2D, but if I want to create depth in a painting I’ll use a scraping technique. You can read more about that here, but to sum up: it’s just a fast and easy way to create depth in a painting by scraping the paint across a canvas in layers.

The downside to scraping, however, is that it takes a lot of layers of paint for a really solid color in the subject. For example, the skin on Aspartame Kills(right) took three layers of paint to prevent the background from showing through.

Anyway, there’s this artist I follow on Instagram, Ashley Longshore. (I’m not going to share her art here, but you can check out her instagram.) She’s incredibly talented. Her art is Pop, too, but the way each of us accomplishes our style is quite different. I really admire the extra depth her pieces have because of the patterns involved. Now, I don’t want to copy her style – and probably couldn’t if I tried. That’s not what this is about. But I would like to try to take a page out of her book and create depth in my paintings using patterns.

So, I’m going to try to work more patterns into a painting or two. I have a few ideas in particular in mind and, you probably could have guessed, there will be flamingos and pineapples involved.

I can’t wait to share them with you.

❤ Liz Kelly Zook

.P.S. If you like my art you should totes sign up for my newsletter! ❤

2 thoughts on “Stepping Out Of My Comfort Zone

  1. Pingback: All That Glitters | Liz Kelly Zook

  2. Pingback: Stepping Out | Liz Kelly Zook

Comment

