Should Your Friends Support You Even If They Do Not Like Your Art?

This is something that crosses my mind quite often. I’m the type of person that likes to “like” everything people post. But a lot of people aren’t. And I don’t think they’re actively trying not to like things. Maybe they just don’t think about it.

All of my friends know I’m an artist. (Strangers on the internet know I’m an artist!) They know it’s important for artists’ work to get seen, I’m sure. But can I fault them for not liking and sharing my work when I’m not actively following their real estate or human resource or social work careers? If a friend posts that they’re looking for work in a specific field, I’ll keep my eyes open for them. I like to be helpful and supportive, but I’m not normal.

What do you think? Should your friends support you even if they don’t like your art?

❤ Liz Kelly Zook

.P.S. If you like my art you should totes sign up for my newsletter! ❤

Comment

