The Whatevers

In case you can’t tell, I like taking ancient statues and making them seem more current. The juxtaposition, especially with color, is interesting to me for some reason.

I had the idea first with The Three Graces when I thought, “Wouldn’t that be cute as an 80’s style Fruit of the Loom type ad?” Then I did Roman Statue on its own. And then I dived into a small collection of statues against very vibrant and colorful backgrounds.

When the idea for  this collection, The Whatevers, first came to me I was going to paint statues posing with 90’s hand gestures. You know, the two hands forming a “W” or a finger and thumb in the shape of an “L” on a forehead. I was inspired by the expressions on their faces; they all seem so bored and judgmental. Like a 90’s teenager playing cool. But then I thought the hand gestures would block their facial expressions. So, I decided to focus specifically on their faces and write the slang words in.

I did six of them, because that happened to be the amount of same size canvases I had on me at the time. They are acrylic, because I wanted to be able to do them all at the same time. They are available separately in the shop on my website, but if someone wanted them all I would definitely do a “collection” price.

Pop art statues are the kinds of paintings that I would be happy to do Commissions of in any size, because they are so fun to do – just in case you were interested.

❤ Liz Kelly Zook

.P.S. If you like my art you should totes sign up for my newsletter! ❤

Comment

