My Fondness for Fake Flamingos

Flock of Flamingos by artist Liz Kelly Zook (4)When I was a teenager we lived in this pretty white Queen Anne Victorian house. I loved having friends over, because it was really nice and it had a huge back yard. That was until my mom put up these plastic lawn flamingos. They embarrassed me to no end. They were so dorky and I was trying so hard to be cool.

Long after I moved out, sometime around the time I got married, I started thinking of the flamingos more fondly. I missed my mom and when I would think about buying a house and settling down I would think of the flamingos.

They give me kind of like a rebellious, but comforting feeling. Painting flamingos is my way of embracing the weirdness of my childhood, and my own weirdness, instead of being embarrassed by it.

❤ Liz Kelly Zook

.P.S. If you like my art you should totes sign up for my newsletter! ❤

Comment

